News:

Most photos can not be viewed without registering for a free membership.

Main Menu
Be an informed Zodiac Collector. Check out the Vintage Zodiac Catalogs Website

Different Color Lume on Vintage Seawolf Dial and Hands

Started by meeko835, December 19, 2017, 10:33:22 AM

meeko835

I am just getting into Zodiac Seawolfs and am having some trouble determining if some of the dials I am seeing have been relumed. Can anybody shed some light on this subject? Is it common to see vintage Seawolfs with different color lume on the hands than the dial and have it be original? Thanks to anyone who wants to help!

YuriyV

I'd say, this is very typical for Radium dials/hands. Different thickness of Radium lume leads to color difference during aging.
Tritium could age differently as well sometimes. But very often different color means hands were changed/relumed.
I noticed that if Tritium lume is still glowing on hands, but does not on dial markers, it is definitely relume.

meeko835

Thanks for the reply. If I may bother you with one more question. Would Seawolfs have been originally manufactured with Radium dial lume but tritium hands? Thanks again!

YuriyV

I'm not certain, but it is possible in transition period (early 1960) when Zodiac migrated from Ra to 3H.
Hope experts will be able to prove or refute this.

Saloonkeeper

with a vintage lume by BWG. I love this watch and he did such a fantastic job on it.

Ultra-Vintage