News:

Most photos can not be viewed without registering for a free membership.

Main Menu
Be an informed Zodiac Collector. Check out the Vintage Zodiac Catalogs Website

Seawolf 703 921?

Started by George Liquor, July 17, 2021, 05:08:30 PM

George Liquor

Gentlemen, good evening from Yorkshire, i am new to watch collecting and  though i have always admired them i have not until recently owned one. The romance started with a Bulova Astronaut which i acquired a few months back and that was it i suddenly felt a great longing for diver and aviation inspired watches, i now have a Glycine Airman a Seawolf and a Swank skindiver watch with another Seawolf on the way as well as a couple of Accutrons. The Seawolf behind this post was bought recently off ebay and the seller (VM watches) sold as a rare 703 912 Zodiac Seawolf, i offered £250 below what he was asking and he accepted, in feverish haste i did not do my home work i just wanted it, i cared little about the wrong crown i noticed not the unusual second hand and i made excuses for the extreme wear on the case back. The watch arrived and i was all over it noticing the heavily worn bezel with no brassing? which on closer inspection with a loop i found the edges had a kind of applied plating which i flaked a small piece off with my thumb nail to reveal the brass underneath. The dial which looks in good condition has a shadow of the hands on it from them being motionless for some time, the second hand i have not seen on a Seawolf of this age but i do like it and it suits the watch, the case back is heavily worn and the marking are barely legible, Automatic Antimagnetic Swiss Zodiac Water & Shock resistant, the Zodiac symbol has worn away completely though the brushed center section looks ok? inside the case back there are scratched a few dates from 69, 71 and 88 along with 703 921 the movement has the zodiac 70 72 rotor self wind mechanism on top of the movement which has GZR on the balance wheel cock and NM next to the w