News:

Most photos can not be viewed without registering for a free membership.

Main Menu
Be an informed Zodiac Collector. Check out the Vintage Zodiac Catalogs Website

Aerospace Jet comments

Started by TJW, February 01, 2010, 10:17:42 PM

TJW

Hello everyone.  I got my Aerospace back from Butch's watch tech about 3 weeks ago and wanted to pass along my impressions. 
The service provided by BWG is outstanding!  If you haven't experienced it and need your watch serviced, I highly recommend him.

I am an airline pilot by trade, and have been wearing the watch at work the last couple of weeks and have been truly satisfied by its performance in that role.  I have to say it is satisfying on a couple of levels.

First, the 24 hr dial matches the company generated schedules and FAA generated weather and flight-planning formats we use.  I would be embarrassed to admit how many times I glanced at my usual flying watch(Rolex Explorer I) and read 6 pm but had my brain interpret that as 2000 hrs.(remarkably easy to do at the end of a 14 hr work day).

Secondly, the historical aspect has really struck me.  I fly an airplane that was designed and built in the 1960's and 70's.  The very watch on my wrist harkens back to that analog era and was designed(it seems to me) to do the specific task to which I am putting it today.  I don't know to what task the previous owner put the watch, but I like to think that it has come full circle and is once again doing what it enjoys most.

Maybe I'm getting sentimental in my middle years, but emotion certainly drives my watch collecting, as I'm sure it does for you too.
Cheers,    TJW

Butch

TJW, as you may know, I have one too. It is difficult to adjust to it when worn and I have to wear it for a few days to settle into it. Then when I go back to other watches, it is almost as bad of an adjustment period! But if one wears it all the time is is a wonderful watch to use, as well as a nice piece of history.