News:

Most photos can not be viewed without registering for a free membership.

Main Menu
Be an informed Zodiac Collector. Check out the Vintage Zodiac Catalogs Website

My first Zodiac Restore, but what did i restore?

Started by aberlow, December 14, 2012, 01:54:31 AM

aberlow

:new So here comes the dreaded first forum post to collectors far more versed than myself. To give a bit of history I have been a hobbyist restorer for a few years now mostly in Omega and Longines. I have only recently become enamored by Zodiacs and had the good fortune to come across an amazing cache of spare parts like OCPs from an old watchmakers estate. Most recently i have taken this beauty from not working restored regulated and oiled and wanted to get the forums opinions on the model and condition.

As a tenet of my restoring philosophy, i never refinish, redial, relume, or replate. So what you see is the watch with its age.

So Let me know your thoughts, comments, and questions. I look forward to learning from everyone and hopefully becoming a knowledgable Zodiac restorer and collector.

Butch

A nice condition 1970's Sea Wolf. Did you get the crown push date feature working as well?
Collecting Zodiacs is not for the meek; be an educated collector.
Click below to see our subscription service and support the web sites.

aberlow

I did. The only slight issue is it sticks slightly. You have to push it in and then pull back a slight bit

Butch

Collecting Zodiacs is not for the meek; be an educated collector.
Click below to see our subscription service and support the web sites.

Dutchsiberia

Beautiful seawolf :) What did you do with the crown gasket? On my two seawolves it turned into sticky tar. Maybe that interferes with the moving of the crown?

TJW

jon p