News:

Most photos can not be viewed without registering for a free membership.

Main Menu
Be an informed Zodiac Collector. Check out the Vintage Zodiac Catalogs Website

Hello...New member with vintage Sea Wolf ???s - update w/pics!

Started by timeliz, February 27, 2013, 02:17:24 PM

timeliz

:new

:dancingbanana;  Firstly, I gotta say I love the dancing banana!

Secondly,  :woohoo; I just purchased my first vintage men's Zodiac Sea Wolf Automatic (no date) which I believe is a 1950's vintage.

I am not new to vintage watch collecting by any stretch and should possibly be in rehab for this addiction; but I am a Zodiac newbie and have some questions about my new purchase.  I have done some research already but have not yet discovered the significance, if any, of the scales symbol (Libra) found on the back of my watch...I've noticed that some have this but most don't.  Was this just an earlier design feature and does it have any special significance?  Also, I've read that it is a bit hard for some to open the back of the watch...understandable since it is a dive watch.  Does it need any special tools to remove the back or put back on?  I'm sure I'll have more questions once I receive the watch and have looked it over.   I will post photos then also, but in the meantime... it looks similar to the avatar I choose when registering.

Cheers,
timeliz         :dancingbanana;

aberlow

:welc and i agree  :dancingbanana; is awesome.

As far as opening; the backs are VERY tight. They are one of the very few vintage snap backs requiring a crystal press to get the back securely on. If you got it from a good watchmaker, they generally tend to align the one notch with a lug so that the lug can easily be used to lever the back off with a high quality sharp case knife. If thats the case shouldn't be a problem. If its not aligned these things can be a nightmare to open and i have a broken case opener and the memories of a gash in my hand to show for it.