News:

Most photos can not be viewed without registering for a free membership.

Main Menu
Be an informed Zodiac Collector. Check out the Vintage Zodiac Catalogs Website

Does the crown have to out to remove back on a vintage seawolf?

Started by cossy, May 09, 2010, 12:05:28 PM

cossy

Hi to all on the site!
As a complete novice,apprentice Zodiac nut and newbie to this site.I feel a little embarassed by asking this as a first post.
I have two vintage Zodiacs. A Geneder seawolf II professional(quartz).And an original 60/70 seawolf auto date.
The problem being,I want to take off the back on the seawolf auto to find what number the movement is?
Is there anything i need to know before i attempt this?
Only ive been advised not to unless i know what im doing(which i dont!!!)and that i might break seals and such?
Any help given would be really usefull and well received!

..pete  :-[

Ultra-Vintage

Hi Pete.  My suggestion would to not remove the back, as many early Seawolf models can be extremely difficult to get the back off of.  Additionally, if you do not have a press, you will be stuck and not able to get them back on again properly.  The caseback should only be removed by a watchmaker.  I am a watchmaker, and I sometimes run across vintage Zodiac cases that are near impossible to remove properly.

Sea Wolf

Post some pics of both watches and someone here may be able to tell you what you got inside.

Welcome to the disease  ;D
webmaster
VintageZodiacs.com

Contact me for any technical issues related to the website.

Race-ready

Quote from: Ultra-Vintage on May 09, 2010, 04:50:42 PM
I am a watchmaker, and I sometimes run across vintage Zodiac cases that are near impossible to remove properly.

What model case opener are you using? You aren't opening them with a case knife are you?

Ultra-Vintage

Quote from: Race-ready on May 11, 2010, 02:29:23 PM
Quote from: Ultra-Vintage on May 09, 2010, 04:50:42 PM